Computers and Writing Conference 2009: Online Sessions Feb 17 – March 1

Hi everyone — this is just a very quick note to point out a conference going on right now (and which I will be participating in Sunday, March 1). The Computers and Writing Conference has some online sessions currently running through both synchronous and asynchronous events that you might want to check out here.

There are all sorts of cool things from blogs to wikis to Second Life sessions on teaching with new media tools. To top that off, all online events are FREE!
On Sunday, March I, there is a afternoon full of interesting panels at the New Media Consortium’s Conference Center in SL, which you can find here.

Here’s a list of the day’s events, starting off with Virginia Kuhn and Holly Willis, who are both from USC’s Institute of Multimedia Literacy, and yours truly.

Sunday, March 1: Noon to 3 pm PST//3:00-6:00 pm EST

12:00-1:30 pm PST//3:00-4:30 pm EST
Breaking Down Classroom Walls: Media for Social Change
Virginia Kuhn, University of Southern California
Vicki Callahan, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Holly Willis, University of Southern California

1:30-2:00pm PST//4:30-5:00 pm EST
Teaching Business Writing in Second Life: Using a Virtual World to Facilitate
Angela M. Rogers, Clemson University

2:00-2:30 pm PST//5:00-5:30 pm EST
Technical Challenges Educators Face Integrating New Technologies
Ruth Couch, Owens Community College

2:30-3:00 pm PST//5:30-6:00 pm EST
Second Reiff: Architectural Investigations in 3D
Mark Frohn, w-i-s-e.net
Sascha Glasl, RWTH Aachen School of Architecture

3:00 pm PST//6:00 pm EST
Visit to IML Honors Program graduate Matthew Lee’s SL space, Rivenscryr

For more info on the Computers and Writing Conference including the face to face conference, June 18-21, 2009, see:
http://writingprogram.ucdavis.edu/cw2009/overview.htm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.